Irish Translation Forum

Ask for Irish Gaelic translations on this English to Irish, Irish to English translator forum.
Irish language translations given on this voluntary community site cannot be guaranteed to be correct. Always ask for a second or third opinion, especially for requests for tattoos, wedding rings, etc.

translation conformation :)

Ask for free Irish Gaelic translations. Community-based Irish English translator service.

Moderator: Moderators - Módhnóirí

Post December 30 2009, 2:53 AM
pansyninja
New Arrival

Wanted to confirm 2 translations for tattoos.

Nothing without effort - Tada gan iarracht

and

The Strong Survive - Maireann an láidir

I am brand new at learning so any suggestions help, Thanks in advance.

Post December 30 2009, 4:12 AM
kenailan
Craiceáilte

Maybe Faic gan Iarracht would work better. Wait for more opinions on this. The other looks good but again wait for more.

Post December 30 2009, 7:33 AM
iora_rua
Craiceáilte

tada, dada, faic, pioc... they're interchangeable I think.
Note that I am only a learner of Irish. Wait for confirmations!
An chéad sagart, ba é sin an chéad bithiúnach a bhuail leis an gcéad amadán. Voltaire

Post December 30 2009, 9:25 AM
pansyninja
New Arrival

Thanks for the input :D been helpful so far.

Post December 30 2009, 14:13 PM
Breandán
Giostaire

iora_rua wrote:tada, dada, faic, pioc... they're interchangeable I think.

Hmm, I think you are right that they are interchangeable, but I also think that in most cases they all mean "something" or "anything" without a negative in front of them to make them mean "nothing".

Níl tada gan iarracht. "(There is) nothing without effort."

Maireann an láidir looks good. The meaning "survive" might be a little clearer with beo though: Maireann an láidir beo. Just a thought.

Post December 30 2009, 14:57 PM
fallagofalla
Anseo again