Irish Translation Forum

Ask for Irish Gaelic translations on this English to Irish, Irish to English translator forum.
Irish language translations given on this voluntary community site cannot be guaranteed to be correct. Always ask for a second or third opinion, especially for requests for tattoos, wedding rings, etc.

love quotes

Ask for free Irish Gaelic translations. Community-based Irish English translator service.

Moderator: Moderators - Módhnóirí

Post April 24 2008, 1:05 AM
LadyTREEHUGGER
Anseo again

Hello there!, I hope someone can help me..

I'm looking for some nice love quotes, something to engrave a man's ring with.
Any help? :) (pronunciations as well if you please!)

I'm new to learning Irish, haven't learned much yet.... I know "Ta mo chroi istigh ionat" means "my heart is within you", but I'm not sure if it would work for this situation? It's still all a little confusing to me, so pardon my ignorance. :)

- Courtney.

Post April 24 2008, 1:21 AM
10th century
Scéalaí Mór

Is this ring a ring for say your husband, future husband, boyfriend...??

Post April 24 2008, 1:24 AM
10th century
Scéalaí Mór

if so:

eternal love = síorghrá

or a couple more here:
viewposth.522392-highlight-eternal+love.html#522392

Post April 24 2008, 2:17 AM
LadyTREEHUGGER
Anseo again

10th century wrote:Is this ring a ring for say your husband, future husband, boyfriend...??

Fiance, yes... just a gift for our anniversary this June, not a wedding band.

I really like "síorghrá", that's going on my maybe list.

This might sound weird, but is there a translation for the words "cookie" and "cupcake" ?

Post April 24 2008, 2:30 AM
10th century
Scéalaí Mór

briosca=cookie
but that's literally a cookie...not sure if the Irish would ever call someone that.....

with cupcake....again, this would have to be left to the more fluent speakers. :roll:

Post April 24 2008, 2:35 AM
LadyTREEHUGGER
Anseo again

10th century wrote:briosca=cookie