Irish Translation Forum

Ask for Irish Gaelic translations on this English to Irish, Irish to English translator forum.
Irish language translations given on this voluntary community site cannot be guaranteed to be correct. Always ask for a second or third opinion, especially for requests for tattoos, wedding rings, etc.

English to Gaelic Help

Ask for free Irish Gaelic translations. Community-based Irish English translator service.

Moderator: Moderators - Módhnóirí

Post April 25 2007, 18:15 PM
MCBrad
New Arrival

I am currently working on a family tree "poster" for my grandfather. I wanted to include a phrase in Gaelic that my grandfather has repeatedly told me throughout my life. The phrase is:

"Live the present, but remember the past"

I have no real knowledge of Gaelic, but I do realize that the rules are different than English. I also understand there is a sort of poet phrasing to Gaelic not included in English. If I could get a close translation in Gaelic and its literal translation into English it would be greatly appreciated. Also, since this is a poster a shorter translation is preferred if there are options, because space is kind of limited.

The possibilities I have found thus far are:

Bí beo sa láthair; cuimhnigh ar an am a chuaigh thart
Be alive in the present; remember the time that has gone by.

And something closely related on this site was:

Bíodh an t-am atá caite i do chuimhne
Bíodh an t-am atá le teacht i do aislingí
Bíodh an t-am i láthair do bheatha

In English it would go something like
"Be the time that is past in your memory
Be the time that is to come in your dreams
Be the present time your life"

As well as this one from the same topic (not sure of literal English translation)

Cuimhnigh ar an am atá thart
Bí ag taibhreamh faoin am atá romhainn
Ach ná déan dearmad ar maireachtáil san am anois

Thanks,

Michael

Post April 25 2007, 18:55 PM
MCBrad
New Arrival